A San Diego area native, Frank earned his B.S. degree in chemistry from the University of Redlands in 1982. His Ph.D. studies, supervised by Professor Linda B. McGown, were completed at Oklahoma State University in 1985. He then carried out postdoctoral research with Professor Gary M. Hieftje at Indiana University until 1987 whereupon he joined the State University of New York at Buffalo (SUNY-Buffalo) Department of Chemistry as a tenure-track Assistant Professor. At Buffalo he rose through the professorial ranks and he currently holds the Henry M. Woodburn Chair and is a SUNY Distinguished Professor of Chemistry.

Frank’s research program focuses on chemical sensors, advanced materials, antifouling coatings, wound restitution and corneal surface chemistry. He and his associates have authored over 300 research articles and they hold 18 issued U.S. patents.

Frank’s scholarship has been recognized by several awards: 3M Non-tenured Faculty Award (1988-‘91), Buck-Whitney Medal (1999), Society for Applied Spectroscopy Gold Medal (2003), American Chemical Society (ACS) Akron Award (2003), A.A. Benedetti-Pichler Award in Microchemistry (2005), ACS Jacob F. Schoellkopf Medal (2006), the ACS Award in Spectrochemical Analysis (2015), and the ACS Edward W. Morley Medal (2017). He is also an elected member of the International Society for Contact Lens Research (2011) and was named a Fellow of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy (2010) and the Royal Society of Chemistry (2014). Frank has also earned awards for teaching including the Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching (1998) and SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching (2000).